A Valentine Tree

Every year at Christmas time I look forward to getting a tree and decorating it.  I have been collecting ornaments since college and at this point have amassed quite a few!  For some reason I couldn’t get into the spirit of it this year and because of my tight budget I thought I’d skip a tree altogether.  But that bummed me out because I wanted to have a little holiday cheer, so I decided I’d just put up a few decorations.  Then it hit me, I have several birds and a few nests which I could use to make a bird tree!  So I went to Michael’s and purchased an inexpensive tall vase and some rocks.  Then I walked over to my local park and collected tree branches.

You can see the vase, rocks, and branches above.  Next I placed the rocks in the vase, cleaned the dead leaves off the branches and placed them into the vase.  Voila!  I had a tree ready to be decorated.  You can see the finished tree here.

I really enjoyed my little tree, and couldn’t bear to take it down at the end of the holiday.  It made me happy every time that I walked through the door.  Then I got inspired again!  I  had bought these heart ornaments on sale at IKEA, and they would be perfect to make a Valentine tree.  So that’s what I did!  It may seem silly, but it still makes me smile every time I walk through the door.  Little things can make a big difference.

One thought on “A Valentine Tree

Leave a Reply

