A Thanksgiving Centerpiece

Well hello there, it’s been a looonng time!  I’ve missed seeing you.  I’ve been experiencing writer’s block and an all around identity crisis, so I haven’t been inspired to post.  But I’ll share more about that on another day.  Today I’d like to share a simple DIY centerpiece project that you can put together for your Thanksgiving table.

Last Thanksgiving the family visited my brother and his boyfriend in Los Angeles, who had just moved there a couple months prior to pursue graduate school and life on the West Coast.  Both my brother and sister went to culinary school, so when it comes time for family gatherings or holiday meals I am shooed out of the kitchen to take care of things like table decor.  We rented the cutest house through airbnb, and in it I found the most amazing test tube vase.  I took inspiration from that, and decided that my nephew and I would take a nature walk to collect clippings from local plants to create the most show-stopping, natural centerpiece.  Nature walks are great for getting kids out of the house, away from electronics, and learning to appreciate the beauty in nature.  Not to mention an opportunity to spend time talking with them.  In the picture above you can see our loot after our nature walk.

Next we added water to the vase and began filling it with the greenery and flowers we had collected, paying attention to color, texture, and height until we came up with a composition we were pleased with.  No matter where you live or what kind of vase(s) you have, you can create a beautiful and natural centerpiece!  Just get outside and get clipping.  Nature will be your muse.

Wishing you a happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

